2023 Awards Prep: The Queen’s Award for Enterprise


What better year, than this year, to consider ‘The Queen's Awards for Enterprise’ - one of the most prestigious awards for UK businesses, for your 2023 Awards strategy. Winning one of these awards has been reported to offer a business multiple benefits, including global recognition, increasing growth and boosting employee morale. The CIM’s North divisions have partnered with The East Riding Yorkshire Lieutenancy to highlight these esteemed awards to CIM members across the north, especially in light of the Royal Jubilee celebrations this year!

The Queen's Award to Industry, the scheme's original title, was instituted by Royal Warrant in 1965, with the first Awards announced in 1966. It later became known as the Queen's Awards for Export and Technology in 1975, before becoming the Queen's Awards for Enterprise in 1999.

There are 4 categories that companies can apply for:  

  • International trade,
  • Innovation
  • sustainable development
  • providing opportunity through social mobility.

 If these categories sound of interest to you, you can request more information and apply here.

Each award is valid for 5 years. Winners receive a crystal trophy and are invited to a Royal reception, presented with the awards by one of The Queen’s representatives, a Lord-Lieutenant.  Not only that, but each company receives The Queen’s Awards flag and can use the emblem on their marketing materials. Since the Award’s inception in 1965 more than 7,000 companies have won a Queen’s Award.

Further information is available from BEIS on:

Official Helpline: 020 7215 6880

Email: queensawards@beis.gov.uk

Website: www.gov.uk/queens-awards-for-enterprise

For local assistance for businesses across Hull and East Riding and consultation, email the East Riding Yorkshire Lieutenancy : erlieutenancy@eastriding.gov.uk